• John Tejada Releases
    Signs Under Test
    A Dreamy New Album of Melodic Techno
    Available on Vinyl, CD & Digitally Through Kompakt
    February 3, 2015

    LOS ANGELES, CA – November 24, 2014 – Following his highly acclaimed album The Predicting Machine and a slew of pop-infused 12-inch singles, LA-based electronic musician John Tejada returns with a new full-length album, Signs Under Test, which drops in the U.S. on Tuesday, February 3, 2015 (Monday 2/2 for other parts of the world). The intimate album is a personal auditory experience, which brings listeners in close to details and idiosyncracies on 11 expertly crafted new tracks. With Signs Under Test, the studio wizard digs deeper into his synthesizers, unearthing dreamy tracks that rank among Tejada’s most accomplished work-to-date. The Austrian-born, Los Angeles-based artist, well-known in international electronic music circles, has been releasing his subtle, melodic techno for 20 years on some of the world’s most respected labels, as well as his own Palette Recordings. The mesmerizing new album will be available on vinyl, CD, and digitally via Cologne-based Kompakt at http://www.kompakt.fm/labels/palette.

    JT-Signs Under TestJohn Tejada – Signs Under Test – Cover Art
    graphic designer: David Grey

    “There’s a bit more dreamy tape wobble going on throughout the album,” says Tejada about his latest effort, “I’ve gone quite analog with delays and patches, on the verge of actually being broken, which gives them a nice character.”

    Signs Under Test
    Signs Under Test reaches further into the depths of Tejada’s hot-wired synth machinery, while cranking up the stunning levels of musicality on display in his oeuvre. The result is a product of hardware connoisseurship. “Everything is built from the ground up, using mostly analog synthesizers” says Tejada, “Hopefully the album holds up as it ages, reveals more on repeated listens.” For a track-by-track description of the exquisite new album, please see the Kompakt info sheet here.

    • Artist: John Tejada
    • Title: Signs Under Test
    • Label: Kompakt
    • Format: 2xLP + CD / CD
    • Catalog + Barcode: KOMPAKT CD 119 – 880319097928 / KOMPAKT 321 – 880319098833
    • U.S. Release Date: Tue., Feb. 3, 2015

    01. Two o One
    02. Y 0 Why*
    03. Beacht
    04. R.U.R.
    05. Vaalbara
    06. Cryptochrome
    07. Rubric
    08. Penumbra
    09. Endorphins
    10. Meadow
    11. Heave in Sight

    * Click link to preview track on Soundcloud.

    John Tejada
    The son of professional classical musician parents, John Tejada is one of the most prolific and consistent producers in today’s electronic music landscape. Trained on drums and piano from an early age, the LA-based Tejada has since amassed an impressive skill set, embracing music as a personal frontier, expanding on his resume as a techno recording artist, as producer, remixer, DJ, and label owner. Known for meticulously crafting a subtle brand of electronic music, his output ranges across tempo and genre lines, from chilled out affairs with spacious arrangements to pulsating, densely layered, deeply energetic tracks that work magnificently in the hands of DJs as well as on the home stereo.

    Before hooking up with Kompakt, the acclaimed studio wizard made an impact on the musical universe, thanks to a flurry of top-tier releases on labels such as Pokerflat Recordings, Plug Research, 7th City, and Playhouse. But nothing prepared the world for those exquisite bangers, “Sweat On The Walls” and “Mono On Mono,” both released in 2004, with the latter being the most fervently beloved classic on Tejada’s own label Palette Recordings. Through Palette, Tejada has continuously honed his skills, together with friends and long-time collaborators like Arian Leviste, Justin Maxwell, and classical jazz guitarist Takeshi Nishimoto (on the duo’s band project I’m Not A Gun). Also in high demand as a remixer, he has remixed well over 100 songs for the likes of The Postal Service, Bomb the Bass, Telepopmusik, Kevin Saunderson, The Field, and others.

    In addition to his work in the trenches of modules, patches and other things synth, Tejada has developed some serious DJ acumen over the years. He has travelled the globe many times over, visiting 30 countries and lighting up renowned clubs and festivals including Movement (Detroit), Sonar Festival (Spain & Tokyo), Dance Valley (Netherlands), Sync Festival (Greece), Mutek Mexico, Fabric (London), Yellow (Tokyo), Rex Club (Paris), and the Walt Disney Concert Hall (Los Angeles) twice. He also finds time for extensive studio exploration, which produces a steady stream of quality releases.

    Links –
    • Kompakt – http://www.kompakt.fm/labels/palette
    • Soundcloud (Y 0 Why) – https://soundcloud.com/kompakt/y-0-why
    • Tejada’s Label, Palette Recordings – http://www.paletterecordings.com
    • Bandcamp – http://johntejada.bandcamp.com
    • Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/johntejadaofficial
    • Instagram – http://instagram.com/johntejadaofficial
    • Discogs – http://www.discogs.com/artist/62-John-Tejada

    #               #               #

    For more information, images, interviews, or to request tunes, please contact Green Galactic’s Lynn Tejada at 213-840-1201 or lynn@greengalactic.com.

    johntejadaJohn Tejada
    (Photo Credit: Juan Mendez)

    Posted on November 28th, 2014 lynn-hasty No comments

    Comments are closed.