• For Immediate Release: February 8, 2010

    Palette Recordings Presents
    Nothing But Love Songs
    Digital-Only Compilation Featuring Palette Artists –
    John Tejada, Arian Leviste, Justin Maxwell, Josh Humphrey, and Dave Hughes
    Released February 2, 2010

    LOS ANGELES, CA – John Tejada’s label, Palette Recordings, is proud to present its first digital-only compilation, Nothing But Love Songs, featuring a dozen exclusive new songs from the label’s talent. While firmly rooted in techno, the cohesive compilation incorporates experimental, dub, and glitch passages as it cycles through layers of sonic abstraction. The compilation begins with a track by Palette All-Stars (comprised of John Tejada, Arian Leviste, Justin Maxwell and Josh Humphrey), and also features solo material by Tejada as well as Maxwell, Humphrey, and Dave Hughes. Collaborations abound with all the Palette artists including Tejada’s 19-year collaborator Arian Leviste. Find the compilation exclusively on Beatport for the first four weeks. In March, Nothing But Love Songs will also be available through additional digital outlets. To purchase or listen to samples of each track please visit https://www.beatport.com/en-US/html/content/release/detail/218460/Nothing%20But%20Love%20Songs.

    The LA-based artists (with the exception of Maxwell who relocated a bit north in recent years) emphasize synthesis and hardware sound design, showcasing various methods throughout the compilation. Tejada and Leviste continue their “M Track” series, which focuses on live hardware modular synth workouts. Justin Maxwell once again proves he is the ultimate mad scientist following up on the sound of his last single “The Windey Man.” Josh Humphrey contributes a strange list of instruments to his work with Tejada including a Swarmatron Synthesizer, which was used exclusively in “YZZ.” And he contributes his first solo work, “P.O.L.R.,” to the compilation. Dave Hughes also contributes his polished sound to the mix.

    Nothing But Love Songs track listing:
    01.) Palette All-Stars (John Tejada, Arian Leviste, Justin Maxwell and Josh Humphrey) – “Action Section”
    02.) Justin Maxwell – “Pocket Dial”
    03.) John Tejada & Josh Humphrey – “YZZ”
    04.) John Tejada & Justin Maxwell – “Crock Divider”
    05.) John Tejada & Arian Leviste – “M Track 7”
    06). John Tejada – “On The Double”
    07.) Dave Hughes – “Listen To This Sound”
    08.) John Tejada & Josh Humphrey – “Tern Style”
    09.) John Tejada – “Vanguard”
    10.) John Tejada & Arian Leviste – “M Track 6”
    11.) Dave Hughes – “Paranoid”
    12.) Josh Humphrey – “P.O.L.R.”

    Palette Recordings was started by John Tejada in the fall of 1996. Over sixty releases later it is one of the most respected techno labels in the world. Palette became an exclusive outlet for Tejada to release his most prized music. Normally associated with his peers in techno from Detroit, Europe and elsewhere, Tejada has embraced electronic music as a personal frontier, expanding on his resume as a techno recording artist as producer, remixer, DJ, and label owner. Known for crafting a brand of subtle, musical techno, his recorded output ranges across tempo and genre lines, from chilled out affairs with spacious arrangements to pulsating, densely layered, deeply energetic tracks that work magnificently in the hands of DJs as well as on the home stereo. To learn more about Palette Recordings please visit http://www.paletterecordings.com.

    Tejada is also in two-man band called I’m Not A Gun with classical guitarist Takeshi Nishimoto producing what Wired Magazine tried to identify as, “Post-rock? Chill-core? Tech-jazz?” A student of the classical tradition, Nishimoto has studied with some of the world’s premiere guitar players and counts jazz guitar legend Phil Upchurch as his mentor. Tejada plays drums and electronics in the band. The duo’s music is an organic combination of captured acoustic performances and experimental electronic compositions. They have four albums under their belt – Everything At Once (2003), Our Lives on Wednesdays (2004), We Think As Instruments (2006), and Mirror (2008) – their 5th album, Solace, is due in May 2010 from Berlin’s City Center Offices.

    # # #

    For more information, images or to set up interviews please contact Green Galactic’s Lynn Hasty at 213-840-1201 or lynn@greengalactic.com.

    Posted on February 8th, 2010 lynn-hasty No comments

    Comments are closed.