• For Immediate Release:                                                                                                                                              May 20, 2011

    Kompakt Records Presents
    New Album by John Tejada
    Out June 20, 2011

    COLOGNE, GERMANY [re-posted from Kompakt’s press release] – “Expect the unexpected,” they say, and it should come as no surprise to many as we warmly welcome to the Kompakt family one of America’s most celebrated producers in dance music, John Tejada!

    Born in Vienna, Austria, he relocated to his current home of Los Angeles at the age of 8 and, following a brief career in hip-hop, found his home in electronic music. If you’re even the slightest fan of the genre, you’ll be hard-pressed not to have heard his music over his two decade-long career. Whether on his own Palette Recordings, Poker Flat, or Plug Research – plus a Fabric Mix CD under his belt – it’s thanks to a steady stream of massive releases (think “Mono On Mono” and “Sweat On The Walls”) that he remains a mainstay in the charts of Beatport and uncountable DJs. He is also half of the long-standing City Centre Offices act, I’m Not A Gun (together with Takeshi Nishimoto).

    “I wanted to experiment with some longer phrases again and to step away from the analog sequencers more and get back to using my hands to create the melodies. I also feel for the first time in quite a while I’ve made an album of songs for myself without worrying about the usual pressures.” – John Tejada

    Kompakt presents his extraordinary new album Parabolas. Resident Advisor called Tejada “one of the most notoriously meticulous producers around” – an unmistakable proof lies within these recordings. Genres collide and combine with an unraveling of blissful layers on Parabolas. The opening track, “Farther & Fainter,” offers a musicality today’s techno and house often lack – an accomplishment that resonates throughout the album. Tracks such as “Subdivided” and “Unstable Condition” reflect the wondrousness of Aphex Twin’s Polygon Window project, something that could only be reanimated and brought to 2011’s standards by Tejada.

    Parabolas is a true highlight in John Tejada’s deep catalogue. Bold words indeed for a producer who is known for unexpected variation and tremendous musical imagination.

    Highlights from Kompakt’s one-sheet:

    – JOHN TEJADA has over a decade of releases under his belt for the likes of POKER FLAT, 7th CITY, FABRIC, PLUG RESEARCH and of course his own imprint PALETTE RECORDINGS.

    – We welcome TEJADA to KOMPAKT with his debut album for the label. Truly follows with the tremendous musicality that keeps him on the top 10 charts of BEATPORT on a regular basis.

    Parabolas Track List
    CD version / double vinyl:

    01. / A1. Farther And Fainter
    02. / A2. The Dream
    03. / A3.  Mechanized World
    04. / B1.  Subdivided
    05. / B2. Timeless Space
    06. / B3. A Flexible Plan
    07. / C1. The Mess And The Magic
    08. / C2. The Honest Man
    09. / C3. The Living Night
    10. / D1. Unstable Condition
    11. / D2. Hollow Hemispheres
    12. / D3. Uncertain End

    artist: JOHN TEJADA
    title: PARABOLAS
    label: KOMPAKT
    format: CD / 2LP / DIGITAL
    cat.no. + barcode:
    KOMPAKT CD 93 – 880319059124
    KOMPAKT 234 – 880319059438
    release date: 20 JUNE, 2011

    worldwide distribution: KOMPAKT DISTRIBUTION

    #    #    #

    For more information, photos or to request an interview, please contact Green Galactic’s Lynn Tejada (née Hasty) at 213-840-1201 or lynn@greengalactic.com.

    Posted on May 20th, 2011 lynn-hasty No comments

    Comments are closed.